Killjoy

ricky

He said he didn’t care.  He wasn’t kidding.

Five-time Golden Globe Award host Ricky Gervais kicked off the 2020 Golden Globes with a tasteless, profanity-laced screed.  This is typically how this guy rolls, but the problem was he made fun of the speeches – in advance.  I don’t recall the actual verbiage but he basically said  don’t get all political, just thank your agent, get over yourself, etc.

The problem with this intro is that it made many of the winners extremely self-conscious when they accepted their awards and gave their speeches.  The point of being a host is to be a cheerleader.  It is not to make the acceptance speeches worse.  It was kind of ironic that Gervais was the host given that the two people who received Lifetime Achievement awards, Ellen DeGeneres and Tom Hanks, embody decency and kindness.

So the Golden Globes trundled along.  There were very few bring-down-the-house moments but I will list those that stuck with me.

  • Kate McKinnon’s intro to Ellen DeGeneres’ winning the Carol Burnett award was very moving, she talked about growing up gay and how important Ellen was to her.  Charlize Theron also gave a heartfelt intro to Tom Hanks’ Cecil B. DeMille award.  And DeGeneres and Hanks both gave lovely speeches.  Normally honestly the Lifetime Achievement awards aren’t the high point of the award show, they’re the snoozefest, but again, this was sort of a weird show.
  • Awkwafina gave a funny yet moving speech when she won for The Farewell. Michelle Williams was again the queen of acceptance speech prep.  Having provided an impassioned speech at the Emmys when she won for Fosse/Verdon about the importance of supporting women in the workplace, this time her speech was rousingly pro-choice.  Everyone was very happy to see Brad Pitt win for Supporting Actor, who truly does seem like a shockingly decent, humble, gracious person.
  • The Actor/Actress in a Drama winners, Joaquin Phoenix and Renee Zellweger, both gave weird rambling speeches that got played out. Phoenix’s was incoherent.  Zellweger’s was heartfelt but got off to a strange beginning when she talked about how it was good to be back after a long break from acting but the audience didn’t seem particularly happy to have her back.
  • There were various callouts to the horrible brushfires in Australia, which at the end Ricky Gervais ridiculed.
  • 1917 and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood were the big movie winners, and Succession and Fleabag the big tv winners. I don’t keep up with all these tv shows (preferring obscure Australian tv shows like Miss Fisher’s Murder Mysteries).  Spencer is back from college and he and I have been on a tear watching movies, but 1917 hasn’t opened yet.  So I haven’t yet seen it and I also haven’t had the patience to slog through yet another Scorcese-directed very long mob movie starring Robert De Niro.  Sigh.

Now is time for a screed of my own.  Little Women is one of the best movies I have seen in years and that it wasn’t nominated for Best Drama or Best Director is pretty much rock-solid evidence of sexism in Hollywood.  The Director of Little Women, Greta Gerwig, sagely predicts this in the movie itself, when Jo March’s editor informs her that “domestic” stories aren’t considered worthwhile.  The movie is a fantastic achievement, true to the book yet still breathtakingly original, and is accessible to lovers of the book and people who are entirely unfamiliar with it (Spencer, again, and Lisa Bell!)

Over and out.  Until the Oscars, or perhaps I will become motivated to begin blogging my movie reviews again before then.  Let me know what you think in the “Comments” section or send me an email.  Thanks for reading!

13 thoughts on “Killjoy

  1. I always love your reviews- & maybe especially this time because I came down with a lousy cold and didn’t make it through the show itself! (Unlikely going to step tomorrow). Sorry I missed some of the highlights but glad I saw Ellen & Tom. And will now look for Fosse/Verdon which I’ve totally missed. No comment on clothes this year. I thought the dresses were especially weird. But maybe I always think that. Hope your xmas was all good. Look forward to seeing you sometime this month Happy New Year! Donna

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    1. Thanks for reading Donna. I have stopped commenting about fashion several years ago because I think it adds to the whole women-are-what-they-wear idea and diminishes their credibility as actresses. Having said that, I thought this year’s dresses were for the most part way too complicated! See you soon!

  2. I obviously went to bed too early last night….after Hanks. Missed Pitt (who, I agree, would be a fine dinner guest).Have you seen Parasite or JoJo Rabbit?My 2 faves.Stephanie Krug  L.L.B.Criminal Lawyer17 Irvin St.Kitchener, Ontario 519 743 1603 tp519 742 6973 faxSent from my Samsung Galaxy smartphone.

    1. STEPH! FYI I now have cell phone plan in which I can call and text Canada! LOVED both Parasite and JoJo Rabbit. Couldn’t believe they pulled off a Nazi satire, but it strangely worked! See My Name is Dolemite for a good time – on Netflix so easy-peasy. Much love.

  3. Spot ON, as usual. We even wondered if the producers pulled Gervais from more appearances in the show because of his overdone disinterest schtick. He seemed to disappear from the show. I usually love his acerbic wit, but I was quickly bored and didn’t miss him through the show. (And, admittedly shallowly, I loved Naomi Watt’s, Sophia Vergara’s, and Helen Mirren’s dresses!)

    1. Carole! I have stopped commenting on dresses but I also loved Helen Mirren’s dress. My fave was the big polka dot long skirt and small polka dot blouse, don’t know who it was. Most of the dresses were way, way too complicated. Yes I think tonally this GGs was a disaster! Happy New Year my dear!

  4. I did not watch the awards, but I have read enough about them. Beautifully written blog post and I agree with most if not all. GET A NEW HOST, people!

  5. Great post! The TV was on during a very busy evening so I only saw bits all night. My favorite part was the film reel of Tom Hanks movies…love that guy. Now I need to Youtube Ellen’s speech.
    I really agree that Little Women was a fantastic movie, great actors, and timeless story. How Greta Gerig was ignored is insulting. I do hope the Oscar nominations are more inclusive of those movies with gentler spirits ( as in no violence, no explosions, no exploitation).
    I am hoping The Farewell comes to our area!
    Happy New Year and give my best to Hugh!

    1. BA so nice to hear from you! Thanks for reading – make sure to YouTube the Kate McKinnon Intro to the Ellen speech, which was amazing. Hope to eventually see you in person – it has been way too long!

Leave a comment